PA House Announces New Leadership

Following the retirement of House Speaker Rep. Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny), the Pennsylvania House of Representatives conducted leadership elections this week. Rep. Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster), who was previously the House Majority Leader, was unanimously elected Speaker of the House of Representatives. Rep. Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre) was elected House Majority Leader, Rep. Donna Oberlander (R-Clarion) was elected House Majority Whip, replacing Rep. Benninghoff, and Rep. Marty Causer (R-Mckean) was elected House Majority Policy Chair. House Majority Appropriations Chairman Stan Saylor (R-York) keeps his position, as do Reps. Marcy Toepel (R-Montgomery), Majority Caucus Chair, Mike Reese( R-Westmoreland), Majority Caucus Secretary, and Kurt Masser (R-Northumberland), Majority Caucus Administrator. The leadership changes came during the last scheduled session week for the House before a summer recess.