Final: Modifications to the Definition of Rural for FORHP Grants

The Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP) finalized modifications to the definition of ‘rural’ used to designate areas eligible for its rural health grants.  For grants awarded after October 1, 2021, FORHP will add all outlying Metropolitan counties that do not contain any Urbanized Area (UA) population to the list of eligible areas. With this change, almost 300 counties in 42 states will be newly-designated as completely eligible for rural health grants. Read more here.